PROOFOFCUSTODY
Scores
Incidents
Learn
About
Get the Report
PROOFOFCUSTODY

The independent scoring system for Bitcoin custody. Every platform scored and ranked.

$1B+ in assets under custody expertise

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

PLATFORM SCORES
All ScoresCompareMethodologyIndependence StandardDataCustody Assessment
LEARN
Bitcoin 101Custody GuidesCustody InsuranceIs Your Setup Safe?Custody TimelineIncidentsFAQQuiz
COMPANY
AboutAuthorsEditorial IndependenceChangelogCorrections
RESOURCES
PodcastPressReport
CONNECT
Twitter / XLinkedInYouTubehello@proofofcustody.io
2026 Proof of Custody. Published by Onramp Bitcoin. Editorial Independence.PrivacyTermsproofofcustody.io
Matrix · 10 platforms · records as of 2026-08-18

Which bitcoin IRA provider actually holds bitcoin, who holds the keys, and what are the fees?

An IRA custodian must hold the asset. The column that matters is what sits underneath the wrapper. It depends on what the holding has to survive: a single point of failure can be excellent at everything else and still lose everything at once, so read that column first, then the fees against your size.

Bitcoin custodians and multi-key providersExchanges and brokeragesBitcoin IRA providersSpot bitcoin ETFsHardware walletsStablecoin issuers and custodiansTokenized treasuries, gold and real-world assetsLending and yield
PlatformScoreCustody modelSingle point of failureIndependenceInsuranceRegulatoryQualified custodianFeesMinimumIncidentsAs of
Unchained IRA81Collaborative Multisig IRANo1/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/s$250/yr + 1.5% trading$002026-08-18
Unchained IRA81Collaborative Multisig IRANo1/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/s$250/yr + trading$002026-02-18
Choice by Kingdom Trust73Qualified Custodian IRAYes0/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/s1% annual + trading$002026-02-18
Swan IRA69Custodial IRAYes0/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/s1% trading + 0.02%/mo (min $20)$002026-08-18
Swan IRA68Custodial IRAYes0/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/s0.99% + custody$002026-02-18
Broad Financial66Checkbook Control IRANo0/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/s$400/yr + setup$002026-02-18
iTrust Capital65Custodial IRAYes0/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/s1% per trade, $0 annual$002026-08-18
Bitcoin IRA60Custodial IRAYes0/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/s2% per trade + 0.08%/mo$3K02026-08-18
Alto IRA58Custodial IRAYes0/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/s1% per trade + $10/mo$002026-02-18
BitIRA55Cold Storage IRAYes0/4Not disclosedNot publishedn/sHigh (setup + annual)$5K02026-02-18

Facts are from each provider's own documents and public filings with the date the record was last checked; "n/s" means not stated by the provider. Scores are Proof of Custody's judgement on the published methodology. Coverage is selected, not exhaustive; absence is not evidence of safety. As data: /data/matrix.json. Dispute a cell through corrections.

Add to your agent

Free, read-only, no key. Every answer carries its source URL, as-of date and the publisher disclosure.

Add to ClaudeAdd to CursorAdd to VS CodeChatGPT and other agents →